Masha’Allah


Mā šāʾ Allāh (ما شاء الله) is an Arabic phrase that expresses appreciation, joy, praise or thankfulness for an event or person that was just mentioned. Towards this, it is used as an expression of respect, while at the same time serving as a reminder that all accomplishments are so achieved by the will of Allah. It is generally said upon hearing good news. People may use this phrase to protect themselves from jealousy, catching the evil eye, or jinxing. – Wikipedia

Sits at the tip of my tongue. And has become my idiosyncrasy. Why? Because i am severely superstitious and fear that bad luck is just around the corner. I fear the jinx.

I don’t just say it for myself. I utter it for everyone, anyone i know and am genuinely happy for. As it turns out, the word has some serious good omen. It works. And while it is directly linked with my religion, it makes me feel safe as well.

My friends actually complete my sentence for me, half the time. But they’ve also started believing in its power. Still, to each his own.

But, i fear jinxing so much, that i’ve stopped talking about the near future. If someone asks, “How did your exam?” Or “What do expect will happen?” I completely avoid such questions and tell them to change the topic because i really can’t say and would like not to comment on it.

If i forget to say the word, which i usually do sometimes absentmindedly, i quickly say it in my heart and pray that nothing happens. Okay, i seriously sound a bit crazy right now. But that is just how i am.

20130413-204258.jpg

Leave a Reply

