Spread my wings and soar towards the sky.


birds

I’ve always wanted to fly.

Spread my wings and soar towards the sky.

They said it could never be done.

What they failed to understand though was that when you challenge me, I tend to not stop till I deliver.

Call it determination, stubbornness or perseverance.

But I have come to acknowledge that life tends to challenge us.

And throw obstacles our way.

All so that we move on from the easy and make room for the difficult.

Learn and grow at the same time.

I don’t quite know why we run from challenges though or hide at the sight of them.

Sometimes running seems okay.

And cowering seems safe.

In the long run, however, I’m not quite sure.

I’ve imagined countless instances of running away.

Where I just pack my bags and leave.

But I think I take those visions in the wrong contexts.

Because when I think of getting up and leaving, it is more for an adventure than a haven.

Maybe that adventure lies in my tomorrow.

And my today consists of facing hardships head on.

Rather than head down.

So.

It is 11:11 right now.

Part of me believes in the magic of it all.

The power it holds to make my wishes come true.

So I’ll close my eyes, hold my breath and make a wish.

To someday spread my wings and soar towards the sky.

4 thoughts on “Spread my wings and soar towards the sky.

  1. “It is 11:11 right now.

    Part of me believes in the magic of it all.

    The power it holds to make my wishes come true.

    So I’ll close my eyes, hold my breath and make a wish.

    To someday spread my wings and soar towards the sky”

    I love how you put me inside the moment with you. ♥ Wonderful work!

  2. I can so relate to his poem right now… when things go wrong or there’s a change I don’t like my first reaction is to flee…but today was the first step to getting resilient me back…anyway as I read you’re poem it was if I had uttered those same words today… very poignant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

